New Year, NEW POST.

Standard

I just got through reading the comments on my first post. I, personally, really dislike when people don’t read/respond to posts they’ve made, whether it be here, Facebook, Instagram, what have you. If you made the post for the public to see, have the decency to respond! While I would genuinely love to respond to every one of you, there is just not enough time in the day. I would, however, like to say thank you to those of you who were/are supportive, those who followed, those who did both, and those who simply took the time to read. If you did not like what you read, I value your opinion as an individual, but you are not being forced to stay or follow. I will not be responding to anymore comments on the previous post. I simply wrote it to put my opinion out there, not to start a debate, but I realize that that will happen because everyone has an opinion. For those of you who are still following, this next part is for you.

I guess you could say I skipped the obligatory details of what a first blog post should entail. Some of you who are following me know me personally, some of you are complete strangers. For the complete strangers, this will be a little about me.

My name is Kristen Beauregard, hence BEAUrocracy if you didn’t catch that πŸ˜‰ . I am 25, happily married to my husband, Ryan, and living in eastern North Carolina. Home for me is about an hour south of Daytona Beach, Florida. Home for my husband is about 30 minutes south of Ann Arbor, Michigan. We’re spending some time here in N.C. with our adopted fur-baby, Dante, while Ryan finishes up his 4 years with the Marine Corps. Less than a year to go!

A little family history:

I have a biological sister, Courtney, who will be 28 on the 7th, and two adopted siblings- my brother, Joe, who is 16, and Isabel, who is 14. We adopted them when I was 11- Isabel was 10 days, and Joe was 21 months. If they weren’t Mexican, you would never know they’re adopted… but I have blonde hair, blue eyes, and we’re all pretty white, so they kind of stick out like a sore thumb to an onlooker. HA. My parents and siblings still live in Florida. I guess you could say I’m the gypsy of the family. I have a sister-in-law, Jacqueline, who’s 18, a brother-in-law, Marcus, 26, and a soon-to-be sister-in-law, Ashley! All of my in-laws live in Michigan. Fun fact: my parents, and extended family are all from the same area Ryan and his family are from!

So, what do I do? I went to college and earned my degree in Elementary education. I was a teacher for three years in Florida before marrying Ryan and moving to be with him here in N.C. I’m not sure that teaching is what I want to do with the rest of my life, so I guess you could say it’s being put on hiatus. Currently, I’m blogging, crafting, working out, and most importantly, doing photography. If you want to check out my work, you can click here:Β https://www.facebook.com/GreenRockPhotographyΒ I just launched that page the day before Christmas Eve, so it’s relatively new. Share it, love it, comment, whatever. Hopefully it’s nice. Aside from photography, I love love love DIY crafts. Pinterest and I get along great. Almost all of my wedding decorations were done by me, based on Pinterest ideas. If you wanna see, go toΒ http://brittany-graham.com/Β and find our wedding. It’ll be worth it, I promise! And while you’re there, you can check out her other work because she rocks. If you want to see more of my DIY stuff, you can follow me on Instagram, too- k_beauregard.

As for Ryan and me, we love doing anything outdoors or fitness related- camping, hiking, working out. You name it, we probably love doing it! Or would at least love to try it! Ryan has recently gotten really into CrosFit. I’m getting there. He’s leaning towards pursuing personal training or something along those lines when we’re done here. I’m really excited for that new chapter in our lives! Oh, and traveling. We both love to travel. We eventually want to hike in every state. We got this bucket list hiking journal thing on our honeymoon, and it’s still sitting in my nightstand. Unopened. Blank. Yeah… maybe I’ll start that.

So that’s me in a nutshell. Well, us in a nutshell. And hopefully that’ll be the last of the boring “about me” posts and y’all will just learn more about me as I post about more interesting things.Like my cat.

Image

 

26 thoughts on “New Year, NEW POST.

    • I completely agree! I’m not even married nor engaged and your response couldn’t have been said any other way. Reading the other blog’s list had me at saying “I already did all and Im not even 23 yet.” And you are completely right when you said ” its not about how old or young you are it’s mainly what your mindset is “

  1. I always love people’s ‘about me’ posts. It’s nice to see other, “ordinary” people, especially around my age. It gets so tedious when the media treats things the way they do, and then I look on facebook and see people my age who are appalling to me. It’s nice to know some people have normal, constructive lives, still. I look forward to reading your future post.

  2. I don’t know how I stumbled upon this, but I’m so glad I did. The previous post about marriage before 23 gained you a new follower! That other girl’s post… not so much. lol

    Also glad to meet a new East Coast blogger! I’m up here in Newport News, VA with my guy and we’re talking about getting married soon (we’re 25) and moving to his hometown in Mississippi by 2015! And I don’t even a LITTLE bit think that’s insane. I think whatever makes a person happy is all that matters. I just view it as an adventure.

    If you ever get the chance to visit, I blog over at http://coffeeringsandsouthernthings.com/. I’m also a photographer! If you EVER need any advice, I’d love to help. My photography website is http://sarahephotographs.com/ and my Facebook fan page is here: https://www.facebook.com/sarahephotographs13.

    -Sarah

  3. Hi! Loved your post! I just wanted to say I’m 25 and play professional volleyball, so I really am not in the states much, (I was just home in the Tampa area with my family for 10 days which was great). Recently I have been faced with a lot of questions from concerned family that at this age I should be planning a future, with someone, and thinking about starting a family. I have strong opinions as you do about when marriage is right for someone at I am not there (I just got out of a serious relationship for these reasons, although not my choice to end it, but my choice to continue this lifestyle led to a confliction of his life choices). Also, it is really hard for me to think about settling down when I see so many unhappy families that started before they were ready to do what is necessary. When I get married, my husband will be my life and when I have kids, my kids will become my life. But alas I have not met the man of my dreams so I will continue to live my life until then. Anyways, this post is more for me than it is for you but I just wanted to say thanks for reaching so many people and sharing the idea that marriage can happen whenever, or not at all. It’s down to what makes you happy, and there are no rules (even though society pushes so much) as to what you have to do with your life. Happy new year to you and your husband!

    • Thank you so much! It means a lot that you took the time to read my blog πŸ™‚ Im happy to see you have such a strong will! Good for you! Good luck and happy new year to you too!

  4. Hi there! I loved reading both posts, and I am now following your photography FB page. I am also perusing photography as a career instead of what I went to and graduated school for. While I have some years on you and 1.5 babies, I feel like we have a lot in common, and I look forward to reading your blog and following your journey. Feel free to follow my FB page, http://facebook.com/jordanmariephotography, and I would love to invite you to a private photography FB group that is a wonderful small community of photographers looking to grow. I think we have to be FB friends for me to invite you though. πŸ™‚

  5. Your post was beautiful. I am 21, just got married, and am expecting my first baby and I want to hug your list forever. I can do all those things with my husband, and the other one just seemed so…. college and lonely. Lol. I did a lot of that in school and making out with a stranger, and sitting nekked in a window sounds horrific. People have different opinions and different outlooks on life, but for me, your list leaves room for growth and time. People dont need to have all this stuff done by a certain age, its exhausting just trying to plan what you want to do this year much less the next 5-10. Keep blogging, and now I want to start my own home business and make all the DIY things I can while I’m married and starting a family. I know I am young, but just so many more years to enjoy with my husband. πŸ™‚

  6. I loved your first blog post! I am a student in college and I’m 20, and I thought some of other articles suggestions were lame. I, like you, have a passport, baked and cake and am not interested in dating two people at once because that is a really messed up thing to do. I am really interested in starting my own blog (although I have no idea how or where to start) and your blog really made me want my own because I think what you are doing is awesome! It would be so cool to put yourself out there and write about life. I feel like its something that everyone should do so later in life you could revisit those memories. Oh and your wedding was ADORABLE! and all the personal touches were too cute and I loved your photographers work!
    πŸ™‚

  7. I love this! I dream of having a DIY wedding, but I can’t really find it on the site you linked to… Keep this up, I’m definitely going to continue reading! I’m from Miami, FL and want to be a teacher, I’m actually only a senior in HS but come Fall i’m going to be in Tallahassee at FSU finishing up my undergrad in social work, and then doing grad work in developmental psych. (My family doesn’t approve of me going to school for education, so i’m trying to go to school for something more marketable. Better be safe than sorry, right?) Also, I followed your intsagram and your cat is adorable!

  8. shinobiswordsman

    Welcome to the blogosphere! (Hands out imaginary cake) If I could offer you a suggestion on your site, I would say add a follow button on the side. Other than that, don’t forget to be awesome! πŸ™‚

  9. I remember when you were teaching and telling funny stories about your day. One of your friends said you should write a book. This is so much better. A book eventually comes to an end and if the author is good, the reader is left wanting more. With your blog we will get more and everyone knows more is better.

  10. Glad that I found your blog! I, too, am a proud Marine Wife. My hubby finished his four years in 2006, but I still very consider myself a Marine Wife. Glad to have found your blog. Looking forward to reading your posts! Good luck with photography!

Leave a Reply

